Butkus Award Watch List is out

Like just about everyone else, we here at RoadTripSports.com and PostinsPostcards are gearing up for college football season. Both Kendall Webb and I are members of the Football Writers Association of America, which means come season’s end we’ll get to vote on the prestigious FWAA All-America team and some of the major college football awards for 2013.

The watch lists are rolling out for the major awards in college football. Next up is the Butkus Award, given to the nation’s best linebacker. The complete list, including key dates for the Butkus Award, is below.

Don’t forget – we’re putting the finishing touches on our signature publication, College Football America. More information on that as we get closer to publication. To keep up with RoadTripSports.com, check out our Facebook page or Twitter feed.

Butkus Award

Named for … The Butkus Award is named for College Football Hall of Famer and Pro Football Hall of Famer Dick Butkus.

2012 winner: Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

2013 announcement: Dec. 12 (The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN)

2013 Dates: Semifinalists, Oct. 28; Finalists, Nov. 26; Banquet, January, 2014, Chicago

2013 Butkus Award Watch List Candidates

Jerry Attaochu, Georgia Tech
Anthony Barr, UCLA
Lamin Barrow, LSU
Dorian Bell, Duquesne
Greg Blair, Cincinnati
Chris Borland, Wisconsin
Carl Bradford, Arizona State
Preston Brown, Louisville
Jonathan Brown, Illinois
Max Bullough, Michigan State
Carlo Calabrese, Notre Dame
Glenn Carson, Penn State
Steele Divitto, Boston College
Dan Fox, Notre Dame
Jeremiah George, Iowa State
Spencer Hadley, BYU
Bryce Hager, Baylor
Anthony Hitchens, Iowa
Adrian Hubbard, Alabama
Cqulin Hubert, Southeastern Louisiana
Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky
Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
Derrell Johnson, East Carolina
A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
Christian Jones, Florida State
Eric Kendricks, UCLA
Christian Kirksey, Iowa
Dede Lattimore, South Florida
Boseko Lokombo, Oregon
Khalil Mack, Buffalo
Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State
Jamal Merrell, Rutgers
James Morris, Iowa
C.J. Mosley, Alabama
Trent Murphy, Stanford
Hayes Pullard, USC
Trevor Reilly, Utah
D.T. Shackelford, Mississippi
Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
Prince Shembo, Notre Dame
Deontae Skinner, Mississippi State
Shane Skov, Stanford
Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut
Telvin Smith, Florida State
Uani Unga, BYU
Kyle Van Noy, BYU
Brandon Watts, Georgia Tech
Derrick Webb, Colorado
Avery Williamson, Kentucky
Chris Young, Arizona State
Jordan Zumwalt, UCLA

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s