College Football America’s 2014 Coaching Carousel: Mason takes over Commodores

Derek Mason

New Vanderbilt head coach Derek Mason.

Vanderbilt’s hire of Derek Mason means the FBS Coaching Carousel for the 2014 offseason might just be nearing its end.

The Commodores tapped Derek Mason to be its new head coach, replacing James Franklin, who left to take over at Penn State. Mason has spent 20 years working his way up the coaching ranks, but Vandy will be his first head-coaching job. His last job was at Stanford where he was David Shaw’s right hand man, coordinating the defense and coaching the defensive backs.

So now we have 20 FBS openings this offseason, but just two open jobs. It took Mason 10 different coaching stops in 20 years to get to Vandy.

It may not be a sexy hire, in terms of name recognition, but Vandy gets a coach who understands the academic-athletic paradigm that exists at a school like Vandy, since it also exists at Stanford. Plus, Franklin is leaving Mason something to build on, something Vandy hasn’t had in a while.

That means there is just one job to fill, for right now. Depending on who is hired, there could be more.

UAB: First, South Alabama coach Joey Jones wants you to know he’s staying at South Alabama. Oregon assistant John Neal has also opted not to interview. In terms of people who might want the job, confirmed that UAB was set to interview Bethune-Cookman head coach Brian Jenkins and Cincinnati offensive coordinator Eddie Gran last week. The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reported that former Tulane boss Chris Scelfo will be interviewed. reports that Tommy Bowden might also get a look-see from the Blazers.


Alabama-Birmingham (UAB) Garrick McGee TBA
Arkansas State Bryan Harsin Bruce Anderson
Army Rich Ellerson Jeff Monken
Boise State Chris Petersen Bryan Harsin
Bowling Green Dave Clawson Dino Babers
Connecticut Paul Pasqualoni Bob Diaco
Eastern Michigan Ron English Chris Creighton
Florida Atlantic Carl Pelini Charlie Partridge
Georgia Southern Jeff Monken Willie Fritz
Louisville Charlie Strong Bobby Petrino
Massachusetts Charley Molnar Mark Whipple
Miami (OH) Don Treadwell Chuck Martin
Penn State Bill O’Brien James Franklin
Texas Mack Brown Charlie Strong
USC Lane Kiffin Steve Sarkisian
Vanderbilt James Franklin Derek Mason
Wake Forest Jim Grobe Dave Clawson
Washington Steve Sarkisian Chris Petersen
Western Kentucky Bobby Petrino Jeff Brohm
Wyoming Dave Christensen Craig Bohl

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s