Ohio’s Poling is Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week

Bronko Nagurski logo

As a member of the Football Writers Association of America, College Football America staff members Chuck Cox, Matthew Postins and Kendall Webb are proud to be a part of the panel that will select the 2014 Nagurski Award, given to the nation’s top defensive player in college football. Each week the FWAA will award the Nagurski Defensive Player of the Week. The College Football America 2014 Yearbook Encyclopedia featured some of the Nagurski Watch List members earlier this football season. The book is available on iTunes for just $9.99. Get a copy today. It’s the most comprehensive College Football book of its kind.

DALLAS (FWAA) – Ohio linebacker Quentin Poling has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for games of the week of Sept. 20.

Poling, a 6-0, 219-pound redshirt freshman from Spencerville, Ohio, paced the Bobcats’ defense with 14 tackles and three interceptions (77 return yards) in a 36-24 victory over Idaho. It was the first time a Bobcat player had recorded three interceptions in a game since Tevell Jones against Bowling Green in 1997. With this week’s honor, Poling will be added to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List.

Each Tuesday during the 2014 season the Football Writers Association of America All-America Committee will select a National Defensive Player of the Week from nominations made by the 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences, major independents, and National Players of the Week from the FCS.

Five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be announced by the FWAA on Nov. 20. The winner of the FWAA’s National Defensive Player of the Year Award will be revealed on Dec. 8 during a banquet hosted by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and sponsored by ACN at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Alabama head coach Nick Saban is slated as the keynote speaker.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is given in memory of the legendary All-American lineman at Minnesota (1927-29). Nagurski dominated college football at Minnesota as a bruising fullback and defensive tackle and could have been an All-America at any position. He then became a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com or 214-870-6516.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast nearly 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

Previous Weekly Winners:

• Aug. 30: Eric Kendricks, UCLA
• Sept. 6: Kyshoen Jarrett, Virginia Tech
• Sept. 13: Josh Keyes, Boston College

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s