College Football America’s 2015 Coaching Carousel update: Bonamego in at CMU

New Central Michigan head coach Jon Bonamego.

New Central Michigan head coach Jon Bonamego.

Every once in a while a coaching move will slip under the radar. So congratulations to Central Michigan for managing to replace Dan Enos with Jon Bonamego without much of a ripple.

Enos left CMU on Jan. 22, despite leading the Chippewas to a pair of winning records and bowl games in the last three years, to take over as the offensive coordinator at Arkansas. It’s a similar move to the one Garrick McGee made a year ago when he left the UAB head-coaching job to take over Bobby Petrino’s offense at Louisville. Enos’ move was unexpected, especially since his contract took him through 2016 and he had received a raise in 2013. But an SEC coordinator job usually pays better than a MAC head-coaching job.

That should have been a death blow to recruiting, but according to the CMU Web site Enos’ assistants managed to keep the entire recruiting class together for signing day.

The Chippewas hired Bonamego to take over. A CMU alum who was most recently with the Detroit Lions as special teams coach, he walked onto the CMU football program in the 1980s and earned two varsity letters. This will be his second head-coaching job. His first job was the Mount Pleasant (MI) High School junior varsity in 1987.

Bonamego’s first year is going to be eventful. His Chippewas have three non-conference games against Power 5 schools — Oklahoma State, Syracuse and Michigan State. For some strange reason OSU is coming to CMU in 2015.

That brings us to 15 head-coaching changes for the 2015 season.


Buffalo Jeff Quinn Lance Leipold
Central Michigan Dan Enos Jon Bonamego
Colorado State Jim McElwain Mike Bobo
Florida Will Muschamp Jim McElwain
Houston Tony Levine Tom Herman
Kansas Charlie Weis David Beaty
Michigan Brady Hoke Jim Harbaugh
Nebraska Bo Pelini Mike Riley
Oregon State Mike Riley Gary Andersen
Pittsburgh Paul Chryst Pat Narduzzi
SMU June Jones Chad Morris
Troy Larry Blakeney Neal Brown
Tulsa Bill Blankenship Philip Montgomery
UNLV Bobby Hauck Tony Sanchez
Wisconsin Gary Andersen Paul Chryst

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s