CultureMap Dallas: Officials didn’t rob Bryant of near game-winning catch. The NFL rulebook did.

Stephen Jones talked a little more about Dez Bryant’s catch during the playoff game against Green Bay. So it might be a good time to revisit this archived article from CultureMap Dallas.

Postins' Postcards: A Life On the Sports Road

Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Dez Bryant catches a pass — or did he? — against the Green Bay Packers. Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Dez Bryant catches a pass — or did he? — against the Green Bay Packers.

The ground cannot cause a fumble. But it can cause an incompletion. If you needed a reminder, the NFL provided you one late in the playoff game between the Dallas Cowboys and the Green Bay Packers.

Cowboys head coach Jason Garrett chose to roll the dice on fourth down from the Packers 32. The Cowboys had to in this case, because they were down five points and staring at what would be their last chance to regain the lead.

The Cowboys called what amounted to a deep jump ball between Cowboys receiver Dez Bryant and Packers corner Sam Shields. Bryant had the advantage, about three inches on Shields, who was in good coverage. Bryant went up, made the catch, took a couple of steps and lunged his left arm, with the…

View original post 94 more words

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s