Adidas, Maxwell Football Club Announce Watch Lists for 2016 National High School Player of the Year Award

The Maxwell Football Club (MFC) and presenting sponsor adidas today announced the 2016 watch list for the Maxwell Club’s National High School Player of the Year award which is presented yearly to the nation’s best scholastic football player.
The award was established in 2007 and former winners include Jacob Eason (Lake Stevens HS – Georgia), Trenton Thompson (2014 Westover HS – Georgia), Will Grier (2013 Davidson Day School – Florida), Derrick Henry (2012 Yulee HS – Alabama), Noah Spence (2011 Bishop McDevitt HS – Ohio State), Jeff Driskel (2010 Hagerty HS – Florida), Sharif Floyd (2009 George Washington HS – Florida), Jamarkus McFarland (2008 Lufkin HS – Oklahoma) and DeVier Posey (2007 Cincinnati LaSalle HS – Ohio State).
The Maxwell Football Club has been recognizing excellence at all levels of football since 1935 and has a major focus on high school football nationally, while adidas currently outfits over 30 collegiate FBS (Football Bowl Subdivision) teams as well as some of the top high school programs in the country.
We are very excited to continue our partnership with adidas as the presenting sponsor of the MFC National High School player of the Year award. The award has gained a great deal of notoriety on a national scale since its inception and partnering with a company like adidas which is known for putting innovation at the forefront of their business model will only continue to enhance the award’s presence. — Mark Wolpert, MFC Executive Director
The initial watch list for the MFC NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD PRESENTED BY ADIDAS is below. Players have been selected by the MFC National Selection Committee and the Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to this list as the 2016 season unfolds. 16 semifinalists will be announced on November 12th and 6 finalists will be announced on December 15th.

The winner of the 2016 MFC NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD PRESENTED BY ADIDAS will be announced on Wednesday January 18, 2017 and the formal presentation of the award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club National Awards Gala that will take place on Friday March 10, 2017 at the Tropicana Hotel and Casino in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Below is the complete watch list in PDF form.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s